Experiencing Hell

1. Tuesday, August 24:

Discussion Topic: Why is Hell so much of a daily part of our lives?

  • I will pass out a set of survey questions which you are required to administer and complete by class time on a date to be announced.
  • I will also administer a class survey.

Image I. World War I: “War is hell . . .”

2. Thursday, August 26

DiscussionTopic:   What is Hell?

  • “Hell” according to the Catechism of the Catholic Church: READ
  • Erich Maria Remarque, All Quiet on the Western Front (first half)

3. Tuesday, August 31

Discussion Topic:

  • Finish reading Erich Maria Remarque, All Quiet on the Western Front
  • Lewis Milestone, “All Quiet on the Western Front” (segment of film): Prepare for film by reading here.

4. Thursday, September 2

An Excursus from the Twentieth Century. Depictions of Hell in Dante’s Inferno

Today’s class meets in Hesburgh Library, Special Collections Room

  • The Inferno of Dante, Canto 3 (READ) and Canto 33 (READ).
  • Background Reading: [      ]

5. Tuesday, September 7

Discussion: Great Writing, Persuasive Criticism

  • Readings from George Orwell: “Why I write,” “Politics and the English Language,” and “Review” (hand-outs)

Image II. The Holocaust: “A living hell . . .”

6. Thursday, September 9

  • Read the first half of Elie Wiesel, Night

7. Tuesday, September 14

  • Complete your reading of Elie Wiesel, Night
  • Your first writing assignment will be posted right around HERE. I will announce the due date later.

8. Thursday, September 16

First Great Debate: TBA

9. Tuesday, September 21

Discussion: More Great Writing

  • In-class Film: Selections from Leni Riefenstahl’s phantasmagoria, “Triumph of the Will”

Image III. Life Itself: “Life is hell . . .”

10. Thursday, September 23

Existentialism: A World Without God

  • Jean-Paul Sartre, “The Wall” (hand-out)

11. Tuesday, September 28

Existentialism: A World With God

  • Flannery O’Connor, “The Lame shall enter first” (hand-out)

 

NOTE:  Please leave your technology at home.  This includes electronic devices of any kind, such as laptops, i-Pads, cell phones, Kindels, video cameras, or other personal digital devices.